L'institut Shastri

English | Français
Facebook

Prof. Judy Whitehead

Une aventure inoubliable

C’était au milieu des années 1970, Judy Whitehead travaillait pour obtenir son diplôme de premier cycle à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), lorsque son intérêt de toujours a commencé à la diriger vers ce qui est devenu le centre de sa recherche future.

« J’avais toujours été fascinée par l’Asie, puisque j’avais grandi sur la côte ouest, et en particulier par l’Inde », raconte Mme Whitehead, aujourd’hui professeure associée au département d’anthropologie à l’Université de Lethbridge. « Et il y avait là [à la UBC] de merveilleux professeurs. J’ai pu prendre certains cours de hindi et d‘études asiatiques en complément à ma majeure en anthropologie. » Les professeurs de la UBC étaient alors notamment Michael Ames, qui était président de l’Institut indo-canadien Shastri, et qui, ajoute Mme Whitehead, encourageait beaucoup de gens à s’impliquer dans le travail sur l’Inde.

L’implication de Mme Whitehead au sein de l’Institut Shastri a commencé au moment où elle a reçu la bourse étudiante pour l‘étude de la langue punjabi à Patiala en 1976. Elle a ensuite poursuivi son travail aux cycles supérieurs et de nombreux projets de recherche qui avaient tous en commun les thèmes de la marginalité et de la justice sociale. La plus grande partie de son travail s’est fait dans des projets de collaboration avec des chercheurs en Inde. « L’Institut Shastri a fait du très bon travail en stimulant l’intérêt sur l’Inde partout au Canada et ce fut certainement très formateur dans ma carrière », déclare Mme Whitehead dont le doctorat portait sur l’agriculture en Inde et la façon dont le sexe et la caste entraient en ligne de compte dans les décisions sur le marché du travail dans la région rurale de l’Uttar Pradesh.

Elle a aussi fait des recherches sur la façon dont les catégories coloniales de féminité ont été introduites en Inde, et, dans les années 1990, elle a travaillé sur un projet de recherche de cinq ans visant à impliquer les expropriés du barrage de Narmada.

En 1999, Mme Whitehead a reçu une subvention pour un projet de Women in Development qui lui a permis de poursuivre sa recherche sur le barrage de Narmada, plus spécifiquement sur le sujet de la réinstallation et de la différence entre les sexes. Plus récemment, en 2005, Mme Whitehead a terminé le projet de recherche appliqué Shastri (SHARP) portant sur la pauvreté urbaine et la participation publique, et sur la politique à Mumbai en lien avec les besoins des habitants des bidonvilles.

Mais depuis, son esprit curieux n’a pas connu le repos; elle écrit actuellement à partir du matériel de cette recherche et a reçu une subvention de recherche pour professeur. Son nouveau travail s’intéresse à la façon dont le travail de domestique au centre-ville de Mumbai est refaçonné par le déplacement des habitants des bidonvilles du centre-ville vers les banlieues nord et nord-est.

« La façon si drastique dont elle [l’Inde] change offre de nombreuses possibilités aux chercheurs et avec une sorte d’accent sur la politique que l’Institut Shastri et le gouvernement indien tendent tous deux à favoriser », dit Mme Whitehead. Mais même si elle est une chercheuse expérimentée qui compte 25 ans d’expérience sur le terrain, Mme Whitehead en apprend toujours de l’Inde et espère que ses collègues plus jeunes en feront de même. « C’est un moment excitant pour s’impliquer dans les études indiennes et le besoin de mieux promouvoir le dialogue et d’augmenter la sensibilisation multiculturelle au Canada demeure, souligne Mme Whitehead. Je crois que c’est important pour les jeunes chercheurs… d’apprécier le fait que nous avons beaucoup à apprendre de l’Inde et que l’apprentissage est un processus qui se fait dans les deux sens. »

Plus de profils

Nouvelles

Accord entre Jamia Milia Islamia et l’université

L’Université de Jamia Millia Islamia et l’Université de York ont signé le lundi 1er octobre un protocole d’entente pour une collaboration dans le domaine éducatif entre plusieurs départements et facultés.

Continue...

L'Insitut Indo-Canadian Shastri signe un accord avec le gouvernement de Saskatchewan

“Le Protocole d’entente entre le gouvernement de Saskatchewan et l’Institut Shastri inaugure une nouvelle ère de coopération dans le domaine de l‘éducation entre la province de Saskatchewan et l’Inde“a déclaré Dr Sinha. “C’est le premier protocole d’entente provincial à aller de l’avant de façon tangible et appuie le protocole d’accord de collaboration dans le domaine de l‘éducation entre le Canada et l’Inde récemment annoncé par les premiers ministres Mr. Stephen Harper et Mr. Manmohan Singh».

Continue...

Canada Francophone - Conférence: S'engager avec l'Inde - S'impliquer en Français avec les Jeunes!

“S’impliquer en Français avec les Jeunes!” a eu lieu le 8 et 9 Décembre à l’Université de Montréal dans le cadre de l’Institut Shastri Engager l’Inde Series. La conférence fut un succès grâce à l’enthousiasme et à la participation de tous les gens présents. Ce colloque fut non seulement enrichissant, mais également agréable.

Continue...

Shastri Engages Canada in India – Shastri Conference in Calcutta

The Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute in association with the University of Calcutta, Jadavpur University and the Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, organized a two-day conference on December 3-4, 2011, at the Indian Institute of Management Calcutta entitled “Engaging Canada: A Multidisciplinary Conference” as part the ‘Engaging Canada’ series being organized by Shastri in collaboration with the Canadian High Commission, New Delhi.

Continue...

Shastri Engages Canada in India – Event at Shastri Member Institution in Pondicherry

As part the ‘Engaging Canada’ series being organized by Shastri in collaboration with the Canadian High Commission, New Delhi, the first of the two ‘Engaging Canada’ events took place at Pondicherry University. The event was geared towards student researchers and faculty members. The program was informative and very inspirational, provoking lively discussion and inquiry.

Continue...

News Archive

Activités

There are currently no upcoming events.

More Events

Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute

English | Français
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter


Facebook

Dr. Judy Whitehead

An Affair to Remember

It was the mid-1970s and Dr. Judy Whitehead was working on her undergraduate degree at the University of British Columbia when a life-long interest began to steer her toward what became the focus of her future research.

“I had always been fascinated with Asia growing up on the West Coast, particularly with India,” says Whitehead, currently an associate professor in the department of anthropology at the University of Lethbridge. “And there was a wonderful faculty there [at UBC]. I was able to take some Hindi and Asian Studies courses to supplement my anthropology major.” The UBC faculty at the time included Michael Ames, then the president of Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute, who, says Whitehead, encouraged many people to get involved with work in India.

Whitehead’s involvement with Shastri began when she received a student fellowship for Punjabi language study in Patiala in 1976. She went on to pursue her graduate work and a number of research projects all with the common themes of marginality and social justice. Most of her work has involved collaborative projects with researchers in India. “The Shastri Institute has done a great job in spreading interest in India throughout Canada and certainly it was very formative in my career,” says Whitehead whose PhD work focused on Indian agriculture and how gender and cast entered into labour market decisions in rural Uttar Pradesh.

She has also investigated how colonial categories of femininity were introduced into India and in the 1990s, worked on a five-year research project in involving the Narmada dam oustees.

In 1999, Whitehead received a Women in Development project grant with which she continued her research on the Narmada dam, specifically on the topic of gender and resettlement. And most recently, in 2005, Whitehead completed the Shastri Applied Research Project (SHARP) focusing on urban poverty and public participation and policy in Mumbai with regards to the needs of slum dwellers.

But since there’s no rest for a questioning mind , she is currently writing up the material from that research and has received a faculty research grant. Her new work focuses on how domestic labour in central Mumbai is being reshaped as slum dwellers in central Mumbai are moving to the northern and northeastern suburbs.

“The way it [India] is changing so dramatically offers a lot of opportunities for researchers and with a kind of policy emphasis that both Shastri and the Indian government tends to favour,” says Whitehead. But even as a seasoned researcher with 25 years experience in the field, Whitehead is always learning from India and hopes that her younger counterparts will do the same. “It’s an exciting time to be involved in India studies and there remains a need to promote better dialogue and increased multicultural awareness in Canada,” says Whitehead. “I think it’s important for young researchers…to appreciate the fact that we have a great deal to learn from India and that learning is a two-way process.”

More Profiles

Latest Headlines

Call for Papers: “Education for our Times”-A Gandhi Peace Festival and McMaster U conference ...

Call for Papers: “Education for our Times”-A Gandhi Peace Festival and McMaster U conference, October 1, 2017

Continue...

Call for Papers “One day national student’s Seminar on Canadian Multiculturism ”

Sree Sankara College, Kalady & University of Kerala with support from SICI ,New Delhi are going to organise “One day national student’s Seminar on Canadian Multiculturism on 27th September ,2017 “ .

Continue...

SSE Achievement Awards

Shastri Institute Congratulates to Prof. Anil Kumar Mehrotra, University of Calgary (SICI Executive Council member) on being selected to receive a Schulich School of Engineering Achievement Award.

Date extended upto 02.04.17 to receive Abstracts

Note : Scholars whose abstracts are selected will be intimated by individual email .

Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute, India Office is organizing International Conference on
“Engaging Canada and India:
Perspectives on Sustainability”at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi on 11 – 12 May, 2017

Continue...

National conference on ‘Peace and Harmony: India and Canada,’ at University of Kerala .

National conference on ‘Peace and Harmony: India and Canada,’ organised by the UGC Area Study Centre for Canadian Studies, University of Kerala, to celebrate the silver jubilee of the Centre for Canadian Studies,on 17-18 February 2017.

Continue...

News Archive

Upcoming Events

There are currently no upcoming events.

More Events